Refusing to grow up

ME and my friends at the farewell from our university
My friends and I at the farewell ceremony organised at our university

Look at us refusing to grow up even in adult clothes.

I was never one of those kids who wanted to grow up as soon as possible. I was this kid who just enjoyed being a kid. And with every class that I got promoted to, I started to panic. I was not ready to become an adult then and I am not ready now!

I have had my fair share of evil adults to deal with all through my teenage years; people who were bad role models teaching bad things, giving horrible advises and stripping me off self-respect with every meeting. I somehow related their bitterness to their age. May be the older you get the bitter you be?.

I spent a lot of time thinking why did these people act the way they did. At that time all I could come up with was lack of jalebis (indian sweet) in their system or not enough hannah montana episodes watched. Thinking about it now I think the problem was their hearing disability. While this statement might be true literally It has a metaphorical meaning too.

Growing up for me is to have the power to choose a life that you see fit. Growing up gives you the power to decide what you want and what you do not. This decision being right or wrong is not our major concern, as long as that decision helps you be what you are; express what you want to express to the world. This is how each individual builds himself a personality.

Everybody has ideologies in life that they go by, as soon as the person is open to bend or manipulate these ideologies the growth of a stronger personality continues; whereas a rigid mind tend to become stagnant. Rigidity of thoughts, ideas or expression contributes to a personality which is insecure and hollow.

Evil people are so because they have stopped listening to the environment. They are so uptight about their ideals that they turn a blind eye towards the scope of improvement. Every ideology or philosophy needs to be polished over the period of time. I believe Stuck up minds are the most evil minds in the world.

Because I am a strongly opinionated person, I fear rigidity of my thoughts, I fear the day when I become so proud of these blog entries that I refuse to listen to other philosophies around me. So here I am hoping that I will never grow up, never turn deaf.


2 thoughts on “Refusing to grow up

Leave a comment